About Wigan Law Society

Wigan Law Society was founded in 1936 and the first President was W S France.

The first Annual Dinner was held at the Victoria Hotel in Wallgate in 1957 when the President was J Bonar Wood.  This was also the venue for the formal lunches which took place when the Quarter Sessions were being held in the town. The Dinner then moved to the Brocket Hotel in the early 1960s.

The Chain of Office was presented to the Society by Frank Platt and Bonar Wood in 1957 and the silver gilt plaques are engraved with the names of all the past Presidents with their year of office. The chain was remodelled in 2010. The Society also has a silver goblet presented to it by His Honour Judge Stansfield on the occasion of his retirement as Presiding Judge of the Wigan County Court in 1984.

Annual Dinners have been held since that time with the Dinner moving to Haigh Hall in the late 1960s. The Dinner is open to members of the Society and their legally qualified guests only. A number of High Court Judges attend each year.

The Society also holds a Summer Ball each year and other more informal functions which have included a day at the races, a quiz night in aid of charity and a wine tasting evening.

In 1991, members of the Committee were invited by the then MPs of Wigan and Makerfield, Roger Stott and Ian McCartney, to a lunch at the House of Commons which was a most memorable occasion.

The first lady to be President of the Society was Miss Pamela Grace White in 1968-69.  She was invited to dine at the Law Society in London and had to be given special dispensation to attend that dinner as she was a lady.

The former Secretary of the Society, Alan Bowden, who served as Secretary from 1984 to 2006 was recently invited to dine with Linda Lee, the President of the Law Society, at a dinner in her private residence in London to mark his great service to Wigan Law Society.

The Society has a Committee presided over by the current President Trafina Sharples and other members include the Secretary Frances Lawlor, Treasurer Janet Larkin, Social Secretary Janette Wood and Committee Members Alan Bowden, Sue Houghton, Katie Liston, Kevin Liston, Amy Litherland and Corenna Platt and immediate Past President Gary Shepherd.  The Committee meets every 6 to 8 weeks.


Comments are closed.